Gratitude Jars are popping up everywhere!

Isn’t it unusual for such a low-tech item to be so popular? Seriously, isn’t there an iPhone app for this?  Or, maybe it’s time for us to get back to basics.

OK, I’m in.  Here’s mine:

Image

Assuming you have one too, what types of notes will you include in yours?  I’m sure I’m not the only one beginning with high-end ideas, such as I’m grateful for family, health, friends, etc.  (See, there are already two notes in there!)  But,

Aren’t we all grateful for those things?

Let’s get real.  I find myself saying “thank-you” out loud when the slow moving vehicle in front of mine turns off, especially when it happens on the morning I’m running late for work.

During the messy, busy days of real life, what else makes us stop and offer a word or thought of thanks?

  • Finding the car keys
  • Perma-press garments – who irons anymore?
  • A strong wi-fi connection
  • Bathroom tissue – think about it
  • Skinny Girl cocktails, or cocktails in general
  • The “hide” command on Facebook
  • Whenever my husband cooks dinner
  • Heated seats in my new car
  • Pandora
  • Chocolate
  • My manicurist

What about you?  Please share what makes you stop a moment say “thanks!”

3 thoughts on “2013: The Year of the Gratitude Jar

  1. I recently heard of another spin on this jar idea – fill a jar with some of the nice things that happen throughout the year and then go back to look at it at the end of the year. Likely, there will be some “little” things in there as you mention above – but we will forget about them as the year goes along. I suggest being specific – my son did the dishes today even though it wasn’t his turn/my daughter knitted a scar for me just because/I found my favorite coffee marked down 50%!

  2. I am so glad you blogged about this as I had not heard of it yet. What a wonderful idea and one I plan to implement tomorrow. I am always grateful and say thanks when my check book balances out right, I say thanks when I make it to my car without slipping on the snow and ice and falling on my butt, and I say thanks if I make it through a day at work without computer or software issues. I have so many more things I say thank you for, but I will just add this one last thanks. Thank you for posting this and reminding us all to be thankful for the simple things in life.

  3. I like both your suggestion as well as Maria’s. It’s so easy to forget the small nice things that happen day to day. Especially when they’re so easily overshadowed by the upsetting stuff. Writing them down lets you have a place to go to remember the good stuff when life gets tough.

Leave a Reply

