I love, love, love my Insanity workouts.  In three short weeks I’ve seen a marked improvement in my endurance, flexibility and stamina.

I have about 30 pounds to lose before I can embark on my next big fitness goal – marathon training.  I have my sights set on completing a full marathon before the end of 2015.

The results from Insanity are immediate.  And, why I enjoy it so much.  From one workout to the next, I can do more reps than the day before and my heart rate recovers faster.

But, oh my knees!  Ouch!knees

I noticed it after the second week.  Stiffness and soreness, especially going up and down stairs.

I laid off the high jumps, then double- and triple-checked my form to be sure I was not hyper-extending my knees.  But damn – more pain.

So, I took Week 3 off and did some yoga and other less intense workouts.  And, of course my weight loss came to a screeching halt.

I came back on Week 4, picking up where I left off with the Week 3 schedule,  now doing Insanity on carpet, not hardwood and barefoot, no shoes.

The soreness and stiffness seems to be improving, but still there.

So far, 5 pounds lost – 25 more to go.  I’ve been able to successfully stay away from the cookies and cake and candy.  (Thank you again Hostess for shutting down the supply of Twinkies and Ho-Hos)

I plan for my second 4 weeks to net more like 10 pounds so I can be at the half-way point.  But, if it’s another 5 pounds with improvements to cardio stamina, I’ll take it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

