It’s a do-over for me on my 100 days.  A second chance, often termed a “Mulligan.”

I had great intentions, but against my own advice I took on too much at once.  I chose a diet/eating plan that was unrealistic for me.   No matter how much I modify, my body is simply not yet ready for Beachbody programs like Insanity or P90X.   The seasonal challenges of a really bad spring cold and allergies were my final undoing.

I fiddled with the music.  I wrote some.  But I couldn’t shake the self-reproaching shame for not keeping on with the rest.  The needle on the scale budged a tiny bit at first, then held firmly in place.  I have to stop thinking about “what-if.”  Sure I’d be a lot closer to my goal had I kept on it for the past 8 weeks, but I didn’t.

What I did do in the time between then was a lot of research into fitness programs, healthy eating and wellness.  I learned that it really doesn’t matter which plan, diet or guru you follow, just that you do what works for you.

My newest purchase is the Jillian Michaels Body Revolution program.  It’s a 90-day program that so far appears to be meant for someone like me.  Someone who can’t bend, twist, jump as far or hard as I did all those pounds and years ago.  I watched the entire set of DVDs before starting and I have faith and determination that I’ll be capable of doing the whole series and then some!

I will be modifying the eating plan just a bit.   I don’t eat red meat and I hate avacado (I know, right? who hates avacado and guacamole? – I do).  The point is doing what works for ME, not some other person.

What I like best about these meal plans versus other programs is that the nutritional information is clear and fairly simple to replicate with more palatable selections if you take the time to do you research.  Also, the plan doesn’t push you to supplement with shakes, drinks and bars.  It’s real food!

Other than this major reboot to the fitness segment of my 100 days, still on my list are music and writing.

And so begins Day 1.  😉

One thought on “Taking a Mulligan! – Day 1 of 100

Leave a Reply

