Over the weekend I got to spend one glorious day all by myself.  It was like Heaven.  There is nothing better, for me anyway, to restore, recharge and re-energize than some alone time.

No schedule, no errands, no small talk, no makeup…you get the idea.  While I set out to have a quiet day of reflection, I found myself catching up on all my household chores with energy left to spare.  Not only did I have the quiet time I so desperately needed these last few weeks, but I thoroughly enjoy that “all caught up” feeling with everything else.

That wonderful zen evaporated in a blink while at work yesterday.  Poof.  WTH!

What I’m learning and need to improve is how to get the zen back in those situations.

I was wide awake about an hour earlier than usual this morning.  I used that time for solitude.  I wrote my Morning Pages without being in a rush (thank you Artist’s Way), did my Jillian Michaels Body Revolution workout and still have time to walk the pups before it’s time to go back to work.

I’m not 100% back to zen, but it’s close enough for me to be fueled for whatever today’s workday might bring.

How do you bring yourself back into balance when life throws a curve ball or two?

Leave a Reply

