Round 1 of 100 days starts TODAY.

100-day challenges are tough.  No matter what it is you are trying to add, subtract or edit from your daily routine, doing that consistently 100 days in a row is not something for the faint of heart.

It takes a great deal of grit and determination to make 100 days of something new stick.  I did a couple 100-day challenges last year with marginal success.  I moved the needle a bit closer to many of my big dreams and goals.

This year I will cover more ground and accomplish more than ever before.

On my other blog, Out of Our Comfort Zone, my writing partner and I are on a quest to become published authors.  I recently went public with my biggest goal for the year – submitting my fiction writing to a contest.  Big hairy scary goal – no doubt about it.

Knowing myself and my greatest nemesis (sugar in any form) is my go-to comfort when facing a challenge or dealing with stress, I need to balance out my quest with an equally difficult goal to meet – getting healthy.

Getting healthy for me means feeling better, sleeping better with less aches and pains.  The excess weight will come off as a byproduct.  The reward will be the ability to run again.

How will I do this?  Tracking steps, counting food (points, carbs, macros, etc.), P90X, Body Revolution, Insanity, Cize, Daily Burn, Weight Watchers – whatever gimmick it takes to keep me focused on being healthier, until it becomes automatic.

This is a major life change.  I’m not 20- or 30-something anymore where a week of salads and water will get me back into a sexy LBD for a hot date night.

I seriously thought I was too old and too far gone to get it back.  Then I stumbled upon a blog called Lifting My Spirits that is owned by someone who has already one what I want to do.  I read her story, followed her posts for a couple of months and realized that the only thing holding me back is ME!

I’m married to a pretty bad ass former bodybuilding enthusiast who still has a 6-pack in his mid 50s and runs half marathons.  What’s in my way?  Big hairy scary fear.  The alternative?  Not going there.  My health is way too important!

So, today starts Day 1 of my first of three 100 days.  I took my measurements and plotted the story for the Maggie contest due in April.  One hour of cardio and the week’s meal planning are up next.  I don’t expect these next 100 days to be perfect and they will certainly not be easy.  It’s an exciting adventure I’m about to explore!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

